Pushing My Comfort Zone #4

16 Apr

Event: Helping a blind guy navigate to where he needed to go

What did you do?: As I was walking down the street one night, a blind man asked my friend and I how to get to where he needed to go. We figured that the easiest way to help him would be to walk him to where he needed to go, and talk him through the directions.

How did this break what you normally would have done?: Before this, I never experienced such an incident and before it actually happened, I would probably just have explained the directions to him and been on my way, whereas this time, I actually led him to where he needed to go.

What were the results of your behavior?: The man was very grateful for what we did, and couldn’t thank us enough.

How did it make you feel?: It made me feel really good about myself. Helping a handicapped person is always very helpful to them and they are always very thankful, and it made me feel great knowing that I probably just made this mans night.

Leave a Reply

